Sir The Baptist

Gospel Music +
Homecoming Culture: Merged

Recording artist Sir the Baptist has partnered with McDonald’s to bring the first-ever HBCU Exhibition as part of the 16th annual McDonald’s Inspiration Celebration® Gospel Tour: Homecoming Edition!

Sir has traveled the country to connect with select HBCUs as they merge students across music disciplines for performances of spirituals, while competing for a $75K grant for their music program and performance slot in the Tour’s holiday show in Houston, Texas in December.

Watch the Competition

Alabama A&M University

The Maroon & White of Huntsville (Normal), Alabama show their true colors performing “Motherless Child.”

Jackson State University

The self-proclaimed “Friendliest Campus in the South” invites you to view a riveting performance of “Wade In The Water.”


Mississippi Valley State University

MVSU gives a valley to mountaintop experience, performing “Go Tell It On The Mountain.”

Shaw University

A college of many “firsts,” Shaw University performs “Wade In The Water” in their quest to be the first winner in our inaugural exhibition.

The Winner is...

Congratulations to Mississippi Valley State University for taking home the grand prize as winner of the first-ever HBCU Exhibition! 

Press play below to watch McDonald’s & Sir The Baptist surprise students with the $75K award.

Meet the Judges

Donald Lawrence

Donald Lawrence

Grammy Award-Winning Producer, Artist, and Choir Master

Kierra Sheard-Kelly​

Kierra Sheard-Kelly

Award-Winning Gospel Artist, and Entrepreneur


NotKarlton Banks

Social Media Sensation, HBCU Alumnus, and Bandhead


R&B Crooner and Singer-Songwriter

Smokie Norful​

Smokie Norful

Grammy Award-Winning Artist, Pastor, and HBCU Alumnus

ICGT holiday experience

Join Us in Houston on December 2!

Get your FREE tickets for the McDonald’s Inspiration Celebration® Gospel Tour Holiday Experience!

The winning HBCU will join the star-studded lineup, including Anthony Hamilton, Donald Lawrence, Jekalyn Carr, Kierra Sheard-Kelly, Samoht, Smokie Norful, and more!

Stay in
the Know.

The voting period is now closed. Our judges are now checking out the results. Stay tuned for final winner announcement!